Pupils study a broad and balanced range of subjects which offer them support, engagement, enjoyment, equality of opportunity and stretch and challenge. The curriculum offers them suitable pathways which allow them to flourish and grow as individuals loved by God. It prepares them for higher education and for adult life in modern Britain.

Key Stage 3

Pupils have lessons in all National Curriculum subjects: English, Mathematics, Science, Art, Music, Physical Education, History, Drama, Geography, Religious Studies, PSHE (Personal, Social and Health Education) and Design and Technology. One Modern Foreign Language (French or Spanish) is taught in Years 7, 8 and 9.

Private Study is set regularly in each subject and parents can monitor their child’s private study via ‘Show My Homework’. At the end of Year 9, pupils select their GCSE choices.

Key Stage 4

Pupils are encouraged to study a range of subjects within a broad and balanced curriculum at Key Stage 4. All pupils will follow a compulsory core of subjects: English, Mathematics, Science (Double/Triple) and Physical Education. As a Christian school, Religious Studies plays an important role and is a compulsory GCSE for all pupils.

Pupils then choose from an exciting range of optional subjects. The current offer includes: GCSE Art, GCSE Drama, GCSE French, GCSE Geography, GCSE History, GCSE Music, GCSE Physical Education, GCSE Resistant Materials, GCSE Spanish, GCSE Textiles, GCSE Computing, BTEC First in Business Studies Level 2 and NCFE Music Technology Level 2. Pupils must take one E-bacc subject in order to allow them to achieve the new ‘Progress 8’ performance measure. At present, pupils are allowed a free choice of whether to take the subjects leading to the full English Baccalaureate.


Since opening in September 2008 our Sixth Form has gone from strength to strength. There are approximately 200 students on roll. Students choose four AS levels in Year 12 and continue with three of them at A Level in Year 13.

Currently, over 20 subjects are offered at AS and A Level ensuring all career pathways remain open and that there is something for everyone. For a list of the current 16-19 curriculum offer please have a look at the Information Booklet listed below.

The British values of democracy, rule of law, individual liberty, mutual respect and tolerance of those of different faiths and beliefs are taught through the curriculum from Year 7 through to Year 13.

Academic Departments
Key Stage 5 Subject Information Booklet 
Levels of Progress
KS4 Curriculum Summary 2018
Key Stage 3 Grade Descriptors Booklet
Promoting British Values